How To Turn Off Read Receipts On Instagram

How To Turn Off Read Receipts On Instagram?

06/08/2022

How many times has it happened with you that you have accidentally opened a text and then have cursed your whole existence just because now you have to continue a conversation you did not even want to start in the first place? I am sure the answer to that is definitely ‘more than a few times. So here you need to know How To Turn Off Read Receipts On Instagram?

Social media is a complex playground, as much as you want to engage with new people, you also want to keep them at arm’s length. You want to know what someone DMed you but you also don’t want them to know. However, Instagram doesn’t allow you to do that. Once, you open a text it will be marked ‘seen’ no matter what, which may let us wonder, is there a way to stop that?

Read the article and you shall find out. 

Is It Possible To Turn Off Read Receipts On Instagram?

Is It Possible To Turn Off Read Receipts On Instagram

The answer to this question is no, you cannot turn off read receipts on Instagram. There is no inbuilt feature in the app that can turn that ‘seen’ label into ‘unseen’.

The read receipts are the default setting of the app and cannot be turned off through settings.

Having said that, there are certainly a few quick and dirty tricks you can follow to turn off the read receipts on Instagram.

How To Turn Off Read Receipts On Instagram Without Using Third-Party Apps: 

Turn Off Read Receipts By Restricting The Users:

Turn Off Read Receipts By Restricting The Users

A direct way to turn off read receipts is by restricting a user. when you restrict a user they will only be able to send you a message request. You can read these messages without them appearing ‘seen’.

On the other hand, you won’t be able to see this person’s activity on your account i.e you won’t receive any notification when this person DMs you, and you don’t get to see their likes or comments.

To restrict a user, here are the steps you should follow:

  • Open Instagram on your device and log in.
  • In the search box, search for the person you want to restrict.
  • Once you find them, go to their profile and press the three dots on the top right corner of the screen.
  • A pop-up with different options will appear, select restrict.
  • Finally, this person will no longer be able to access you.

Turn Off Read Receipts On Instagram By Disconnecting Your Data:

Turn Off Read Receipts On Instagram By Disconnecting Your Data

The most practical workaround to turn off read receipts on Instagram is to just go offline while reading the message. Here are the steps you should follow to successfully achieve that:

  • Open Instagram, and log in.
  • Once you are in, click on the messenger icon on the home page.
  • Refresh your page and wait for the new messages to load, once they are successfully loaded turn off the internet connection.
  • Once you are offline, tap the message you want to read

This is a great method to read a message without Instagram detecting that you have done so, but this is only temporary. Once, you go back online, the ‘seen’ message will automatically appear underneath the text.   

How To Turn Off Read Receipts On Instagram Using Third-Party Apps:

 DMpro

 DMpro

DMpro is a DM managing service that helps you manage and read your Instagram messages without actually accessing the application. This app doesn’t turn off your read receipts but it provides you a way to access them without actually opening the app.

What DMpro essentially does is, it automatically transfers the message to your dashboard or email whenever someone directly texts you on Instagram. This way you don’t have to open messages on the app, and because you didn’t access the app to read those texts, they won’t be marked ‘seen’.

DM pro also assists you in sending automated messages to the ones you like, it also helps you in sending bulk DMs to as many people as you want and it keeps your data secure. So, DMpro not only helps you in turning off your read receipts but also offers plenty of other services.  

How To Mark Messages As Unread On Instagram?

How To Unread Messages On Instagram

It may have happened to you many a time that you see a message but you don’t want to reply right away, that’s when this feature comes in handy. You can mark a message as unread, and the next time you open the application you won’t forget to read the message and reply to them.

However, Instagram will still mark that message as ‘seen’. When you unread a message the ‘seen’ status does not go away. here’s how you can mark one’s DMs as unread:

  • Open Instagram, and log in.
  • Open your messages on the top right corner, and click on the chat you want to mark as unread.
  • A pop-up menu will appear, select mark as unread and your job will be done.  

We hope these easy-to-follow tips and tricks will help you ghost a person without actually ghosting them.  

Related Posts

How To Add Reels Back On The Profile Grid?

How To Add Reels Back On The Profile Grid?

We all know how popular reels are among Instagram users, and if you are one of those people who frequently make and share Reels, then it may have happened, that you forgot to post Reels on the Profile grid or accidentally, removed them from there. Well, you have come...

How To Do The Symmetrical Challenge On Instagram

How To Do The Symmetrical Challenge On Instagram

Instagram is a social media platform that is used in almost every corner of the world, it has become popular because of the engaging and fascinating features it offers to its users. One such feature is called Instagram reels, and here are the steps Here are the steps...

How To Get A Photo Booth On Instagram 

If you recently have been active on Instagram reels then you may have come across this reel where people visit their local photo booth and click these beautiful pictures with black and white backgrounds, unfortunately not all of us have photo booths right around the...

How To Find Live Videos On Instagram

Instagram Live is a feature that allows you to live stream or broadcast video to your Instagram followers in real-time. Live videos live next to Stories, just above the main Instagram feed. When you go Live on Instagram, your followers get notified, and then they can...

How To Tell If Someone Deleted Their Instagram

More than a billion people use Instagram, spending an estimated average of 30 minutes per day on the image-heavy platform. It also consumes our lives and gives us unnecessary anxiety.  Additionally, people suffer from a lot of body esteem issues because of how...

How To Play A Video On An Instagram Story

Instagram Story videos let you share video snippets of moments in your day with your followers. Brands have also taken advantage of Instagram Story videos as a more interactive extension of their Instagram Feed and to promote their product. It has quickly become a...

0 Comments

Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *