How To Know If Someone Restricted You On Instagram

How To Know If Someone Restricted You On Instagram?

12/08/2022

How to know if someone restricted you on Instagram? Many of you must be aware of the ‘block’ feature of Instagram and may have used it now and again to impede someone from accessing your Instagram profile. The Instagram ‘restriction’ feature works more or less the same as like ‘block’ feature in the sense that it restricts people from accessing your profile. However, the ‘restrict’ feature is a little more complex and polite than the Instagram ‘block’ feature.

Social media platforms like Instagram have never been a sheltered community, often we see users facing problems like virtual harassment, abuse, receiving undignified messages and comments, and sometimes annoying relatives passing judgments. Therefore, to prevent all these complications, Instagram introduced new privacy features, and one of the sub-component of the feature is the ‘restriction’ option.

The ‘restrict’ feature allows a user to curb a person’s activity on their accounts without actually removing them. Once you restrict someone, you will no longer receive notifications when that person comments on your posts or sends you a message. They will no longer see when you are online on the application either.

Read the article to find out if someone has restricted you on Instagram and the different ways you can restrict people on Instagram.

How To Know If Someone Restricted You On Instagram

How To Know If Someone Restricted You On Instagram

When you are restricted on Instagram, you can access a person,s profile like you usually do. You will be able to see their posts, stories, and other stuff on their profile. However, it takes away some of your privileges like sending them direct messages, commenting on their post, and seeing whether they are active or inactive on the app.

So, to find out if someone restricted you on Instagram, we are going to use these limitations in our favor. Follow these quick and easy tips to see when you are restricted or not. 

Trick No. 1: Send Them A Message.

To know if someone has restricted you on Instagram, the first step is to send them a message.

 As we previously stated that when an Instagram user restricts you, you will no longer be able to send them DMs, despite the that your text will directly transfer to their message request, and they can only interact with it if they manually see it.

Therefore, if you send them a message and they don’t respond to it but have been posting photos, videos, and stories on the app, then you are probably restricted. 

Trick No.2: Post A Comment.

Another easy way to check if someone has restricted you on Instagram is by posting a comment on a random post.

When a person is restricted on the app, their comments will be posted under the restricted comment section and it is up to the user whether they want to make that comment public or not.

The comment will only be visible to you and the user of the account but no other person will beagle to see them, so it may become difficult for you to fathom whether you are restricted or not.

As your comments will be visible to you as normal comments, to check if you are restricted you will need to access a different account or a friend’s account.

Post a comment on one of their post and then access the person’s profile from a friend’s account, open that post and scroll down through the comment section, if you are unable to find your comment among them then, it is confirmed that you are restricted.

Trick No. 3: Track Their Activity 

Another trick to know if someone has restricted you on Instagram is to keep a track of their activity.

The restrict feature allows a user to hinder a person from seeing whether you are online or not, it also disables you from checking when they last checked their messages.

So, to confirm, you can keep a track of their activity. If the person has recently posted a photo, video, or story and still their last seen is not updated when you open their profile, then they have probably restricted you. 

You can also use a different account to authenticate that if you can see their activity status from a secondary account, but it’s still not visible from your original account, then it is verified that you have been restricted from their account.  

How To Restrict Someone On Instagram?

How To Restrict Someone On Instagram

Now that we have covered how to find out if someone restricted you on Instagram, in the next section of the article we will briefly explain the different methods to restrict people on Instagram:

Method 1: Restrict An Account Through Messages:

  •  Log into your Instagram account.
  •  Search and open the profile of the person you want to restrict.
  •  Select the three dots on the right-hand side of the screen.
  •  Press the restrict option.

Method 2: Restrict Someone Through Direct:

  • Open a Direct message by tapping the messenger icon in the top right and selecting the username you want to restrict.
  • Click on the username located on top of the chat.
  • Select the Restrict option available at the bottom of the screen.

Restrict feature will not work if the person you want to restrict and you have a common group chat on the gram.

Method 3: restrict someone through your settings:

  • Open Instagram and go to your profile page.
  • select the three lines in the top right corner.
  • Press Settings and then tap Privacy.
  •  Tap Restricted Accounts.
  • Press Continue.
  • Search for the account you’d like to restrict and select them.

Method 4: Restrict Through A Comment On Your Post:

  •  Open your post and press View all comments.
  •  Tap and hold the comment.
  • Click on the !, and then tap Restrict.

If a restricted person comments on your post, you can tap See Comment to reveal what the comment says, or you can tap Delete to delete the comment. If you tapped See Comment, the comment will be visible to others, or you can tap Delete to delete the comment altogether.

We have already established that finding out if someone has restricted you on Instagram is complex, the reason behind that is to restrict a user as much as they can without them knowing it. Nonetheless, we hope that the above-mentioned workarounds will help you decipher whether you are restricted or not.

Related Posts

How To View Instagram Stories Without Them Knowing

How To View Instagram Stories Without Them Knowing

How To View Instagram Stories Without Them Knowing? Instagram has become a crucial part of your life, almost every person wants to put their crucial memories on the gram, and wants to know what other users have been up to. However, there may have been times when we...

How To Audio Call On Instagram

How To Audio Call On Instagram

With time Instagram has evolved to become more useful for its users, one of the popular newly added features is audio calls, in this article we have explained How To Audio Call On Instagram.  An Instagram call allows you to call your friends and followers in...

How To Reverse Audio On Instagram?

If you are a consistent Instagram user, you may have realized it’s not easy to stay up to date with all that is going on in the application. How To Reverse Audio On Instagram? Every day, a new trend goes viral on the app, and you have to hustle to create a reel that...

How To Make A Group Chat On Instagram?

What is a group chat? Group chat is a form of chat where you can talk to multiple users at the same time. When Instagram launched these features, it opened incredible doors for its users. Instagram presented its users the opportunity to rise from the traditional...

How To Add Location On Instagram Bio?

It's no unknown fact that it is one of the most frequently used social media platforms; just last year, the application had 1 billion users, of which half are daily users. The application has provided its users with heaps and loads of features that make the experience...

How To See If Someone Saved Your Instagram Posts?

Instagram has brought excitement to our life by regularly adding new features and functions to keep them interesting. Instagram has remained relevant ever since its launch. It lets its users spice up their Instagram by adding stories. Post, comment, and share pictures...

0 Comments

Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published.